Get Your Writing Fix: Character Interviews

Since I know that many of us are just itching for NaNo to begin so we can get writing, I thought I would share a bit of fun with all of you.

Ever since I was a kid I loved writing, and it’s an activity that I’ve continued to engage in throughout much of my life up to this point.  One of the things that I found I enjoyed a great deal was written role play.  It allowed me to write a character’s story as the character.  I allowed me to get into her/his head.

Now… I know that NaNo is mostly for fun.  At least, that’s how I’m approaching it this year.  But there is nothing, in my experience, that drives a story better than the character(s) themselves.  Getting to know them.  Getting into their heads.

So, I thought it would be fun to interview our characters…

Below are some example questions from a couple of sources [Storyfix, Writer’s Digest, Writing Like Crazy].  Pick and choose those that inspire you, then mentally sit down with one or more of your characters, interview them and, hopefully, dive into that which makes them tick!

• If you were sent to a deserted island what three things would you take?

• Do you have a hidden talent?

• Do you have a habit you wish you could break?

• What features do you like the most about yourself?

• What feature do you dislike the most about yourself?

• Do you have a guilty pleasure?

• Do you have a passion and if so what?

• What would the first thing be on your bucket list?

• Tell me something no one else knows about you?

• What is your core need (and what you will do if you can’t get that need met)?

• What is your greatest fear?

• What is the incident(s) that wounded you early in life that got you believing a lie? (And just what is that lie?)

• How open are you to new ideas and information? Do you change your mind frequently, based on what people have told you? Are you a traditionalist, deciding on the basis of what’s always been?

• When you walk into a party, what do you notice first? The mood? The people? The decorations? The things that need to be fixed? The background music? The food on the buffet table? Whether or not you fit in?

• Is one sense more highly developed than another? For instance, do you tend to take in the world primarily through vision? (“I’ll believe that when I see it!”) Or are you more auditory? Do you determine if a person is lying by the tone of voice? What about the sixth sense—intuition? How often do you rely on your “gut” and then have your feelings confirmed?

• Do you usually notice problems around you? What is your response? Do you write an angry letter to the editor? Shrug and move on? Analyze what’s wrong and how to fix it? Take it as evidence that the world is falling apart? What about problems within yourself?

• Would you say you are an optimist or a pessimist? Would your friends agree?

• Are you more interested in the past, the future or living in the now? Are you one to keep holiday traditions? If you had to move tomorrow, how long would it take you to make new friends?

• How do you decide if you can trust someone? By experience with this person? First impressions? Intuition? Do you test the person somehow? Or are you just generally disposed to trust or not to trust?

• Are you a deliberate, careful speaker, or do you talk without thinking first?

Enjoy!  I hope this helps you get your writing fix in as we begin to count the hours down to the start of NaNo here in the States.

2 thoughts on “Get Your Writing Fix: Character Interviews

  1. Maribeth says:

    Thank you so much for including my blog on your blog. I hope you stop back again. I will be back to yours. Thank you again, Maribeth:)

Leave a Reply

